Artwork By Mike Lewis

Ruins Series

No. 4
No. 11
No. 9
No. 3

The landscape series called RUINS examines the relationship between humanity and the environment over very long stretches of time. Actually, these pieces should be seen not only as landscapes, but as time-scapes. Forests, reduced by human exploitation to fields of stumps, mirror the ruins of grand pillars, ravaged by nature's everlasting assault. In time all things will pass away. The RUINS series is both a meditation on the inevitability of extinction and a warning that the extinctions we bring about may bring us to our own ruin.